Where I Belong by Gillian Cross

Official Blurb:

There are guns and bandits in this story. And supermodels. And there’s drought and starvation too. Are you wondering how they can all come together? Well, that’s how life is these days. Things don’t happen neatly, in separate little places. We’re all caught by the great spider’s web of media that spans the world. That’s where the story is set. The world. It’s the story of Abdi and Khadija and Freya (that’s me) and what happened to us because of Somalia…

The cover of Gillian Cross's Where I Belong

Review by Katy Haye:

I picked up this book because I was deliberately looking for something different: specifically, something that wasn’t a story about a white, well-educated, western young woman. I definitely got that here – Where I Belong is told in three points of view, two of which are Somali migrants to Britain. I also got a wonderful story about love, and trust, and change, and … well, life.

The characters were compelling, the writing was strong and the structure was masterful. As a cynical, western reader I could see what was going on behind the scenes, but the characters’ naivety was utterly realistic and only made me feel for them more strongly. The description was beautiful – I could see places I’ve never been to through the eyes of the characters.

Where I Belong was a very satisfying read and comes highly recommended.

Katy Haye

piranha stars turquoise 5

This entry was posted in families, fiction, review, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

