Film Review – Avengers: Age of Ultron

I have just one word for this – awesome! I know, clichéd or what? But that’s the only way to really describe it, sorry!

(Photo from http://www.imdb.com )

(Photo from http://www.imdb.com )

I had been waiting for this film from the moment I left the cinema after seeing the first Avengers film and that seemed like a very long time. But boy was it worth the wait!

With lots of other movies released in between, all connected one way or another – Thor II, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy etc – the director and scriptwriter must have had a terrible job coming up with a plot that included all the characters in more or less equal measure. Yet somehow, they did it and it worked brilliantly!

With the addition of several new characters since the last Avengers film – most notably Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch – it was a miracle that I still felt I got to spend time with and get to know each character more deeply. They all have their own back stories, which we learn more about, and they all have their various plot lines which converge, of course, in one final battle against the bad guy. In this case that is Ultron, a villain created accidentally when Ironman (aka Tony Stark) and the Hulk (aka Bruce Banner) try to use the sceptre of Loki to complete a global defence programme created by Stark. The artificial intelligence in the sceptre takes over in a way neither had anticipated, turning himself into Ultron, and his main target is of course the Avengers.

There is so much going on in this movie that at times it’s hard to keep up, but my eyes were glued to the screen as I didn’t want to miss a single moment. I laughed (there are some great one-liners and in-jokes, just like in the last film) and cried at a particularly sad moment which I hadn’t expected (and quite frankly, could have done without!), but most of all I was on the edge of my seat with excitement.

For anyone who loves comic book heroes (or even those who don’t but like a movie that’s just sheer fun), Avengers: Age of Ultron is a must! Again, I can’t wait for the next one, but to keep me going until then there will be many more instalments in the whole Marvel franchise so I guess I’ll be ok.  Still, I hope they hurry …

Pia xx

5 Piranhas

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

