These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Official Blurb:

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive — alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

Cover of These Broken StarsReview by Katy Haye:

This book was really hard to review because I had extremely mixed responses to it. I’m a demanding reader with no qualms about putting a book down if it fails to deliver and I spent much of the first quarter of this book chuntering about the ridiculous implausibilities (for example – if you snap the heel off a stiletto shoe, you are not left with a nice, flat shoe with which you can happily stroll across rocky terrain; you are left with a broken, useless shoe). A friend who had to put up with me while I was reading/chuntering told me for heaven’s sake to put it down – but I was intrigued by the story and wanted to see how it all ended up.

My word am I glad I stuck with it. About a quarter of the way through there was a stunning twist, and from that point it got better and better. The setting was great, the growing relationship between the characters was hugely satisfying, and the twists got even bigger and more sensational. I can’t wait to read more from this pair.

I can’t in good faith give it a piranha rating because I can’t give a book with so many holes in it more than 3, but at the same time it’s so good I couldn’t possibly give it less than 4.

Read it and make your own mind up – but be prepared to gloss over the first hundred pages!

This entry was posted in fiction, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

