Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2016

Official blurb:

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

The cover of Holly Bourne's Am I Normal Yet?

Review by Katy Haye:

Oh, this book was so good! Full of truths about being human, there were several places where sentences made me simultaneously laugh and cry and towards the end I wept copiously.

I cared dearly about Evie, and all the relationships were beautifully, truthfully portrayed. Am I Normal Yet? also had some strong and sane things to say about life, mental health and society – but it never became preachy or overbearing.

I feel like I’m making it sound very worthy and intense, but it’s a terrific read, I zipped through it in a couple of evenings, completely absorbed by it.

It do want to add, though, that if you read it and you recognise yourself in it (I could see my anxious 15-year-old self in so many places), 1 – You are perfectly normal, and 2 – You can get help if how you feel distresses you. The two things are not mutually exclusive.

Loved it, and I can’t wait to see what Holly has in store for us next.

piranha stars turquoise 5

Katy Haye

This entry was posted in contemporary, fiction, review, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

  1. Pingback: Giveaway Klaxon: CrazYAboutbooks | paisleypiranha

Leave a Reply

