Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Official blurb:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

The cover of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows

Gorgeous, I tell you. I want to live in this book.

Review by Katy Haye:

Oh my, this is simply glorious. Six of Crows was my first taste of Leigh Bardugo and I’m so glad she’s written other books ready for me to glut on, because I’m not ready to leave this world.

The plot and pacing of Six of Crows (it is, at base, a really slick heist story) are immaculate and flawless (yes, both!), and the relationships between the characters were simply fabulous. So much was communicated in so few words.

I loved every one of the quick-witted, desperate characters. Hardened criminals, maybe, but I empathised with them effortlessly: stuck between rocks and hard places they did what they had to in order to avoid being crushed by the two. And they were clever. I’ll forgive an awful lot if you’ve got a good brain in your head.

And the world of the grisha! I want to go on holiday to Kerch: see the sights, have a hot chocolate and get my pocket picked (preferably avoid being beaten up, though).

I’m so glad there’s more to come, and while I wait for the next, I’m moving straight on to Leigh’s grisha trilogy, starting with Shadow and Bone.

And unequivocal five out of five.

piranha stars turquoise 5

If you like fantasy, or heist stories, or clever twists, try this.

Katy Haye writes fast-paced fantasy for YA readers. Check out The Last Gatekeeperand The Last Dreamseer.

Want more YA book stuff?

Every month, the Paisley Piranha YA newsletter Book Bites brings you brand-new author interviews, bookish competitions and other fabulous book stuff.

Sign up now

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: 3 reasons I love my library | Katy Haye

  2. Pingback: OLD YEAR/NEW YEAR: Katy Haye | paisleypiranha

Leave a Reply

