Tuesday Interview: Dahlia Adler

This week we are delighted to share an interview we did with Dahlia Adler who writes fantastic contemporary stories. Check out our reviews for Under the Lights and Behind the Scenes. And read on to find out more about Dahlia.

Cover of Dahlia Adler's Under the Lights

Click to check out the preview

PP: Welcome to the Paisley Piranha’s aquarium. Make yourself at home. Best not stick your fingers in the tank; we’re not sure how well trained the piranhas are. Can I get you a cup of tea? We got some macarons in your honour – I’ll see if there’s any left.

DA: Yes, please to both!

PP: Okay, well, a big thank you for coming. We loved Under the Lights and Behind the Scenes and wanted to find out more about it and you. When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

DA: Thanks so much! I actually started writing when I was pretty young—like, well before I was a YA myself. I had a—I hate to say “restrictive,” because I think it gives the wrong impression, but definitely a more insular kind of upbringing, growing up Orthodox Jewish. I didn’t dislike it, but I was very conscious of all the stuff out there that my life would never contain, and writing was a great way to live those other lives.

PP: Which of your characters would you most like to be stuck in a lift with? (Either from the Daylight Falls universe, or feel free to introduce us to someone we haven’t met yet).

DA: Hmm, is everyone single in this scenario? If so…Brianna, for, uh, reasons. (Also for similar taste in music.) If not, probably Ally, since she and I have the most in common. We could practice French. And she could laugh at me.

PP: If we suddenly descended into a totalitarian police state where the writing of fiction was banned, what would you do instead?

DA: In addition to writing, I’m also an editor at an academic publishing house, and a book blogger for B&N, so I’ve got a few pursuits in addition to fiction writing. But if I were doing something totally non-bookish… I’d be traveling like a madwoman, and helping others plan trips too.

The cover of Dahlia Adler's Behind the Scenes

Click for preview

PP: What one thing that you know now do you wish you’d known when you were sixteen?

DA: That “this too shall pass” is true 100% of the time. It’s really, really hard to thing to absorb but at some point, as an adult, I realized it was always, always the case.

PP: In three words, what’s the best thing about books?

DA: Whole new worlds.

PP: What are you working on now – and what stage is it at?

DA: Now that I’ve got three YAs done, I’m going back to NA for a little bit—Last Will and Testament and Right of First Refusal were recently joined by the final book in that series, another f/f romance, Out on Good Behavior.

PP: I hope they do really well! And finally, the Paisley Piranhas like to share the love because we know how wonderful it is to find a new book or author to fall in love with. Can you recommend a (YA) book or writer we might not have heard of that we really should try?

DA: A few of my favorites I think are criminally underread: Pointe by Brandy Colbert, Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul, Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert, The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore, and Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley. As for authors, my top instabuys are Stephanie Kuehn, Corey Ann Haydu, Jessica Verdi, Amy Reed, Trish Doller, Miranda Kenneally, and, of course, my accountabilibuddy and critique partners: Lindsay Smith, Maggie Hall, Marieke Nijkamp, and Gina Ciocca. Highly recommend discovering them all if you haven’t yet!

PP: Wow, that gives us lots to be getting on with, thank you! And thank you for chatting to us today.

Find out more, and get in touch with Dahlia on her website, via twitter, or on Facebook.

If you are a YA writer and you’d like to feature in our Tuesday interviews, just get in touch via our Contact page and we’ll schedule you a slot.

This entry was posted in fiction, Interview, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

