Tuesday Interview: Megan Crewe

Hello, Megan, and welcome to the Paisley Piranha’s aquarium. Make yourself at home. Don’t stick your fingers in the tank, we’re not sure how well trained the piranhas are. A big thank you for coming. A Mortal Song looks GORGEOUS and we wanted to find out more about it and you. When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

MC: I’ve been making up stories for as long as I can remember. Before I learned how to print letters, I used to dictate them to my mom so she could write them down for me. 😉 As I got older, I noticed that my friends and teachers seemed to respond really well to the stories I wrote, and by the time I was around ten I’d started thinking I’d want to try to make a career of it, since I did love doing it, and what could be better than making a living doing something you love?

PP: Which of your characters would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

MC: Probably Keiji from A Mortal Song. He’d make up jokes to off-set the frustration of being stuck, and have lots of stories about supernatural happenings to share to pass the time.

PP: If we suddenly descended into a totalitarian police state where the writing of fiction was banned, what would you do instead?

MC: Um, write in secret? Heh. I’d probably do some sort of work with kids—in the past I’ve taught classes, worked at camps, and tutored kids with special needs.

PP: What one thing that you know now do you wish you’d known when you were sixteen?

MC: I wish I’d known that my first boyfriend was not going to be my One True Love. I invested so much time and energy in that relationship and had so much trouble letting go even when it was obvious it wasn’t going to work out because I was stuck on that romantic idea.

PP: In three words, what’s the best thing about books?

MC: Living many lives.

PP: What are you working on now – and what stage is it at?

MC: I have a bunch of projects at various stages, from complete and on submission to publishers to in the online stages. All YA, mostly fantasy or paranormal. I’m not sure which’ll be out first, but I’ll definitely have something new for readers sometime next year.

PP: Excellent! And finally, the Paisley Piranhas like to share the love because we know how wonderful it is to find a new book or author to fall in love with. Can you recommend a (YA) book or a writer we might not have heard of that we really should try?

MC: Birth of the Firebringer by Meredith Ann Pierce. It’s been one of my favorites since I was a teen. The writing is lovely and the story gripping—overlook the fact that it’s about unicorns; believe me, it works!

PP: Oh, unicorns is definitely a plus! We’ll check it out, thanks for the recommendation.

The cover of Megan Crewe's A Mortal Song

Click for preview

Megan’s A Mortal Song is available now. Grab your copy now – just click on the cover. Piranha Katy Haye loved it – check out her review if you need persuading!

This entry was posted in contemporary, families, fantasy, fiction, Interview, magic, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

