Tuesday Interview: Tiffany Current

It’s Tuesday, and Tuesday is interviews day with the Paisley Piranhas. We are delighted today to welcome Tiffany Current to the aquarium to talk about her soon-to-be-released novel, My Maker’s Keeper.

Cover of Tiffany Current's My Maker's Keeper

Vampires, humans and a love triangle to get your teeth into!

PP: Tiffany, a big thank you for coming. We loved the sound of My Maker’s Keeper and wanted to find out more about it and you. When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

TC: I don’t think I actually decided to become a writer until I was older, but I’ve been writing since I was kid. Well, journaling, really. But as I got older, my journal turned into a book of ideas. And eventually, those ideas morphed into short stories. It wasn’t until college that I realized I could actually do this for a living and I’ve been going for it ever since.

PP: Which of your characters would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

TC: Hands down, it would have to be Lucas. He’s dark and sexy and troubled. Just the kind of guy you’d like to be stuck with for a few hours. Ha!

PP: If we suddenly descended into a totalitarian police state where the writing of fiction was banned, what would you do instead?

TC: I’d be a TV critic, if that was possible. I love television—especially trashy TV shows. So if I could get paid to watch and review them, I would totally do it.

PP: What one thing that you know now do you wish you’d known when you were sixteen?

TC: I wish I knew that high school doesn’t really matter in the scheme of things. So have as much fun as possible and don’t let other people’s opinions get to you.

PP: In three words, what’s the best thing about books?

TC: Three words: it’s an escape. It’s true. Books are an escape from life, from relationships, from your job. And sometimes you really need that escape.

PP: What are you working on now – and when does it hit the bookstores?

TC: I’m working on an urban fantasy novelette right now. It’s about this cynical and sarcastic woman who doesn’t believe in the supernatural – only to discover she is supernatural and has to team up with a hot guy to rid the world of monsters. I’ve finished writing it, but the next step is for it to go to my editor. I’m hoping to have it published in February 2017.

PP: And finally, the Paisley Piranhas like to share the love because we know how wonderful it is to find a new book or author to fall in love with. Can you recommend a (YA) book or a writer we might not have heard of that we really should try?

TC: I don’t think she’s that unknown, but I really enjoyed the book How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller.

PP: We’ll check that one out. Thank you so much for joining us, Tiffany!

Like the sound of Tiffany, My Maker’s Keeper or Lucas? The novel releases on November 1st. You can find out more on Tiffany’s website.

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, paranormal, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

