Sanctuary by Melle Amade

piranha stars turquoise 5

Unsettling – and captivating.

piranha stars turquoise 4

…But if you’re a ridiculous stickler, you’ll notice a few proofing errors.

About the book:

It’s survival of the fittest, but first you have to fit in.

Shae is sure the icy rage that eats away at her is driving away her friends and pulling her closer to the wrong boy. But, as her protected world unravels, she discovers the violent supernatural world that lurks in her quiet hometown and the ancient feuds that threaten to destroy both her friends and her family. To save those she loves, Shae must succumb to her own fury, but at what cost?

Cover of Melle Amade's Sanctuary

Click for the preview and to buy

Review by Katy Haye:

I didn’t know a lot about Sanctuary before I started, I was just curious because I seemed to have seen it around a lot (and that cover IS beautiful). From the first paragraph I loved the writing. I was intrigued: I wasn’t sure what was going on, but I really wanted to figure it all out.

The atmosphere was gloriously unsettling and the world Melle Amade has built was utterly absorbing. Nothing was completely unique – but it was all twisted a little bit to make it different, clever and captivating.

The finale was a triumph and the ending was brilliant. No cliffhanger (I’m sure you know our opinion of willful cliffhangers amongst the Paisley Piranhas!), but I definitely want to read more about Shae and her friends. There were a few proofing errors (breaks for brakes; pouring for poring), but you’ll probably only notice them if you’re cursed to be a preposterous stickler like me.

Oh, and – there’s a character named Zan. Which has got to be a tick in its favour from me (In case you don’t know – my heroine in The Last Gatekeeper is Zan).

If you like shifter novels – and even if you don’t – I’d recommend Sanctuary. I loved it.

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, paranormal, review, supernatural, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

