OLD YEAR/NEW YEAR: Gill-Marie Stewart

christmas-tree-17Gill-Marie is just squeaking in at the end of the festive season. New Year’s Day still counts, right?

What was your top read of this year?

That’s a hard one. I think it’s a toss up between Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Carry On’ and Stephanie Perkins ‘Anna and the French Kiss’. I loved both and could definitely re-read them. My reviews are here: Carry On and Anna.

Have you come across any new authors that you’d recommend?

Laini Taylor writes excellent fantasy (read my review of ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ here). Otherwise most of the new books I’ve loved have been by authors I already knew and enjoyed.

Can your readers expect something new from you next year?

I have started work on a new YA series set around a group of friends in their last year of school. The first is about a girl who is fed up of people complaining and thinks we should get on and DO something. More news to follow …

Do you have a book-related New Year’s Resolution?

I want to read more non-fiction. I’m starting with a couple of books on geology because a) it fascinates me and b) it may well appear in a future book. Lots of plot potential scrabbling around dangerous rocks, finding many-coloured stones.

What are you hoping to get in your Christmas stocking?

Chocolate. Books. CDs (yes I’m old fashioned like that). More chocolate. And actually I got all of these, plus wine. Pretty good going :).

What’s your favourite Christmas food?

I love a traditional Christmas dinner with ALL the trimmings. I even love Brussel sprouts J

In three words, tell us what Christmas means to you.

Family. Good food. Sparkly lights in the dark. Oh, that’s three things, not three words.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

