Review: Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

piranha stars turquoise 5“Demons in Regency London. Love it!”

About the book:

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

Cover of Alison Goodman's Dark Days Club

Click to grab a copy

Review by Katy Haye:

I first spotted this book in Waterstones yonks ago. For whatever reason I didn’t get it, but a little while after I changed my mind and went on Amazon looking for: Dark Deeds Society. No sign. Isn’t Amazon supposed to be most sophisticated search engine on the planet? And it couldn’t figure out that I meant Dark Days Club when I typed in Dark Deeds Society? Pah!

Anyway, I went back to Waterstones and bought the paperback – which then languished on my shelves for another age. It took this challenge for me to pick this out of my TBR pile, and I don’t know why because it’s EXCELLENT.

There are shades of Pride & Prejudice & Zombies (I haven’t read the book, but I watched the film over Christmas), but it wasn’t just fight scenes welded onto a Regency.

In particular I fell so hard for Lady Helen. I SO wanted her to have a happy ending – but the story was complex enough that it wasn’t easy to decide what the happy ending ought to be.

I guessed some of the resolution – but none of it worked out how I anticipated. Different and entirely delectable. And best of all, the Kindle version is currently FREE. Grab it now!

Katy Haye is reading her way through the alphabet during the first half of 2017. Keep posted for reviews from A – Z on this site. When not reading, she writes fantasy and post-apocalyptic novels for YA readers. Her new release, Discord, is now available.

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, historical, paranormal, review, Romance, supernatural, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

