Series review: Elementals by Michelle Madow

piranha stars turquoise 4

A pacey twist on classical mythology with some fabulous writing!

About the series:

Nicole Cassidy is a witch descended from the Greek gods… but she doesn’t know it until she moves to a new town and discovers a dangerous world of magic and monsters that she never knew existed.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole and four others — including mysterious bad-boy Blake — are gifted with elemental powers. But the comet has another effect — it opens the portal to another dimension that has imprisoned the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes, it’s up to Nicole and the others to follow a cryptic prophecy in time to save the town… and possibly the world.

Michelle Madow's Elementals boxset graphic

Review by Katy Haye:

The Prophecy of Shadows
First in the series, this is a cracking read. Nicole is a fabulous heroine and all the principle five (teens descended from the Greek gods) were well-rounded and a pleasure to spend time with. The world-building was superb: I had no problem suspending disbelief and cheering the characters on as they dealt with their new powers and faced their task – saving the world.

The Blood of the Hydra
Next step in the adventures – modern and ancient Greece collide when the group has to slay the mythical beast. I loved the relationship development in The Blood of the Hydra – especially the growth between Nicole and Blake, and Nicole and Danielle’s progressing friendship.

The Blood of the Hydra had snappy writing and beautifully crafted chapters (really, if you’re a writer, you should check out these books as a lesson in how to craft chapters). Short and gripping, they were effortless to “snack” on – I kept picking up my Kindle with the plan to read just one while I have five minutes spare … only to find I’d got through five.

The Head of Medusa
Ooh, this volume was really good, things are hotting up for the characters. I romped through this adventure, enjoying all the twists and turns. And … the stakes get REALLY big.

It does end on a cliffhanger, but why would you want to do anything other than read the next to see what happens?!

The Portal to Kerberos
Well, if I’m completely honest, this dipped a bit. I found Nicole frustrating in places. Either she was dashing into things without due consideration, or she was wringing her hands and going, “Oh, do I have to do this?” when it was something she patently did. (And I know, I know, it’s easy for me sitting reading a book to expect characters to leap into deathly danger – they have to actually experience it so it’s not surprising if they’re a bit reluctant!).

The Hands of Time
I loved the premise here. There was further, fabulous character development (I loved Kate’s outcome, and was pleased that Nicole and Blake’s relationship moved on). However, the solution to the group’s quandary had been signalled so clearly for me in The Portal to Kerberos that I found myself shouting at the characters to think of it (I won’t say what because … spoilers). Once they reached that point I was able to settle again. And I utterly loved the final scene of how things worked out.

The cover of Michelle Madow's Elementals

A fabulous, new fantasy world

This is a highly recommended read, but if you’re not sure, can I suggest you try the first in the series, Elementals: A Prophecy of Shadows for free to begin with? You can get a copy directly from Michelle Madow using this link.

Katy Haye is reading her way through the alphabet during the first half of 2017. Keep posted for reviews from A – Z on this site. When not reading, she writes fast-paced fantasy for YA readers. Her new release, Discord, is now available.

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, mythology, review, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

