Review: Non-Heir by Rachel E Carter

 

piranha stars turquoise 5

Flawless.

About the book:

Prince. Prodigy. Mage.

Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

This novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of Magic. Readers discover the dark backstory between the two princes and their father, as well as the ensuing events that shaped Darren into the Academy’s most prodigal mage.

Cover of Rachel E Carter's Non-Heir

Click to start reading … you won’t want to stop!

Review by Katy Haye:

My “H” read for my alphabet challenge got off to a rocky start. After two false starts I decided this could count as an H title, or I might not manage to read one!

And once I started reading, I didn’t look back. This was a wonderful story to vanish into. The world-building is superb, the writing is SOO accomplished and the characters are wonderful. These are not the pampered Princes you might expect, their lives are utterly brutal, and they reflect that in complex ways. Darren is hard to like, but totally compelling.

I don’t generally do more than cast an eye over reviews before I pick up a book, but one snagged in my memory as I read. The reviewer said Non-Heir was okay, but didn’t really reflect the full strength of Rachel E Carter’s writing. Well, if that’s the case, I can’t wait to dig into the rest of the series (and there are four waiting for me – bliss!), because I really can’t see how this can get better!

And check out that cover. I could drool for weeks.

This is so highly recommended that if you were here with me now I’d be grabbing your Kindle and uploading it for you. It’s as strong as Leigh Bardugo – and anyone who follows this blog knows what high praise that is. Get a copy. Now. Oh, and it’s free, so you’re really out of excuses now.

Katy Haye is reading her way through the alphabet during 2017. Check in next week for her review of her “I” read: Impulse. When not reading, she writes speculative fiction for YA readers. Her new release, Discord, is now available.

This entry was posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

