Review: The Cursed Child by JK Rowling

piranha stars turquoise 4About the book:

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

cursed-child-cover

Review by Katy Haye:

Well, I liked it; I didn’t love it. And to set the context for that, I adore the Harry Potter books, but in a normal, sane booklover manner. E.g. I ordered and read the last four on the weekend they were released, but I wouldn’t stay up late in a cloak and pointy hat waving around a twig in order to get a copy the moment midnight strikes.

Probably a big part of my lack of adoration was the presentation as a script rather than a novel (I am aware it’s a play, so I’ll accept the argument that its formatting is fair enough). But I found myself conjuring how various scenes could be done from a technical perspective, which was slightly distracting.

I like a nice time travel yarn and the story itself was smashing, the structure was good and the relationships were touching. (Snape, I fall in love with you a little more each time).

It made me want to see the play, which I guess means it’s done its job. I just didn’t quite sink into the world as thoroughly as I wanted to.

When not reviewing books, Katy Haye writes speculative fiction for YA readers. Check out her latest, Discord. It’s FREE this weekend only!

This entry was posted in families, fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

