Review: One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus

 

About the book:

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller. Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule. Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond. Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime. Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life. And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again. He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects. Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you’ll go to protect them.

Cover of Karen M McManus' One of Us is LyingReview by Katy Haye:

It’s rare that I make a foray into the contemporary genre, but One of Us is Lying was (literally) pushed into my hands by the teen in my life with the injunction, “You must read it.” And so I did.

And my word, it’s pretty fabulous.

Because I was the second person in the household to read it, I started with the disadvantage of already knowing “whodunnit” – however, that didn’t affect my enjoyment at all. The writing and the characterisation is utterly brilliant. The four protagonists sprang to life within moments and I was hooked. They absolutely fit the high school stereotypes, but they were so much more. And the narrative made a beautiful arc from heartbreaking to triumphant. Oddly enough, I had a particularly soft spot for Addy, the insecure airhead prom queen who I’m sure I wouldn’t give the time of day to in reality.

If you want a gripping read that will twist your heart, One of Us is Lying is highly recommended.

Katy Haye’s new series releases in less than two weeks’ time (crikey!) with first book Dragon Thief. If you like magic, danger, deadly royals and a heroine who won’t accept her fate tamely, Dragon Thief is the book for you!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in contemporary, crime, families, fiction, friendship, review, teen, YA, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.