Category Archives: friendship

Review: Connected by Kat Stiles

Anyone following my reviews with a keen eye (hi, mum!) may be expecting a review of a book beginning with “J” this week, as part of my alphabet challenge. Well, that book was Jane Eyre. It is so unutterably awful … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, supernatural, teen, thriller, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Review: The Cursed Child by JK Rowling

About the book: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a … Continue reading

Posted in families, fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Non-Heir by Rachel E Carter

  Flawless. About the book: Prince. Prodigy. Mage. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce. This novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

“Gorgeous and heartbreaking” About the Book: Matthew Corbin suffers from severe obsessive-compulsive disorder. He hasn’t been to school in weeks. His hands are cracked and bleeding from cleaning. He refuses to leave his bedroom. To pass the time, he observes … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, families, fiction, friendship, review, teen | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Review: Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

“Demons in Regency London. Love it!” About the book: London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, historical, paranormal, review, Romance, supernatural, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Crystal Magic by Madeline Freeman

  “I want more!” About the book: Nothing is safe around Kristyl Barnette. Windows break. Books rocket across the room. Lights flicker. Strange occurrences follow the sixteen-year-old everywhere. She’s an outcast at her school, but everything changes in the blink … Continue reading

Posted in families, fiction, friendship, magic, paranormal, review, Romance, supernatural, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: That Moment When (anthology)

About the Book: Love YA paranormal, urban fantasy, science fiction and dystopian books? We’ve gathered a handful of thrilling stories from all of your favorite genres and put them together into an epic anthology of young adult fiction. Some of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, paranormal, review, Romance, sci-fi, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment