Category Archives: families

Reviews: White Pawn and Black Pawn by Ingrid Seymour

A double-review this week, of the first two in Ingrid Seymour’s new Vampire Court series. About White Pawn: Bianca is a Trove. Her blood is so powerful it allows vampires to stroll in the sunlight. She lives a socialite life … Continue reading

Posted in Contest, families, fantasy, fiction, paranormal, review, Romance, supernatural, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Internment by Samira Ahmed

About the book: Rebellions are built on hope. Set in a horrifying ‘fifteen minutes in the future’ United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin is forced into an internment camp for Muslim-Americans along with her parents. With the help of newly-made friends … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, dystopian, families, fiction, giveaway, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , ,

Review: One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus

  About the book: Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller. Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule. Sports star … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, crime, families, fiction, friendship, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , ,

Review: Winter’s Captive by Robin D. Mahle and Elle Madison

About the book: The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the spot Princess Charlotte’s life was destroyed. Her fiance taken and her kingdom on the brink of war because of it, Charlie refuses to be the damsel in distress … Continue reading

Posted in families, fantasy, fiction, friendship, historical, review, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , ,

Review: Seabound by Jordan Rivet

About the book: Esther has lived on a cruise ship for sixteen years, ever since she fled an apocalyptic catastrophe with a handful of desperate survivors. Now she works as a ship’s mechanic and dreams of a life beyond her … Continue reading

Posted in dystopian, families, fiction, friendship, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , ,

Review: The Red Sun Rises by Victoria Kinnaird

About the Book: Eren Anderson is a freak among freaks. At 17 years old, he doesn’t fit in with his peers in the tiny town of All Hallows and despite being born into it, he most certainly doesn’t fit in … Continue reading

Posted in families, fantasy, fiction, paranormal, review, Romance, supernatural, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , ,

Review: Labyrinth of Shadows by Kyla Stone

About the book: A hero sworn to slay the monster. A princess determined to save it. But only one can live… They call me the cursed princess. Daughter of a tyrant king. Sister to the monster. For seven years, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in families, fantasy, fiction, friendship, historical, mythology, review, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , ,