Category Archives: contemporary

Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

About the Book: Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, crime, families, fiction, review, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , ,

Review: This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher

About the book: Tell the truth. Or face the consequences. One year ago, there was a party. At the party, someone died. Five teens all played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth. But tonight, … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, crime, fiction, friendship, review, teen, thriller, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Review: Internment by Samira Ahmed

About the book: Rebellions are built on hope. Set in a horrifying ‘fifteen minutes in the future’ United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin is forced into an internment camp for Muslim-Americans along with her parents. With the help of newly-made friends … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, dystopian, families, fiction, giveaway, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , ,

Review: Alizarin Crimson by Erica Millard

About the book: Van Gogh’s madness has found her. While attending a prestigious summer art school in New York City, seventeen-year-old Aya’s red paint attacks her skin, tattoos her, and enables her to manipulate the color red. The red takes … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, fiction, friendship, review, Romance, teen, thriller, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Slay on Tour by Kim Curran

About the book: SLAY do two things and they do them well: They play killer music and they slay killer demons. After Milly’s rescued from mortal danger by the hottest band on the planet, she hardly expects to join them… … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, fantasy, fiction, friendship, mythology, review, supernatural, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Review: One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus

  About the book: Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller. Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule. Sports star … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, crime, families, fiction, friendship, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , ,

Review: Persuade by Wendi Wilson

About the book: Vampires don’t exist. Everyone knows that, but after a drug experiment gone wrong, a new generation of children share a frightening number of characteristics with the fictional bloodsucking monsters. Needing blood to survive. Advanced hearing capabilities. The … Continue reading

Posted in contemporary, families, fiction, paranormal, review, Romance, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , ,