Tag Archives: world-building

Review: Non-Heir by Rachel E Carter

  Flawless. About the book: Prince. Prodigy. Mage. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce. This novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , ,

Review: That Moment When (anthology)

About the Book: Love YA paranormal, urban fantasy, science fiction and dystopian books? We’ve gathered a handful of thrilling stories from all of your favorite genres and put them together into an epic anthology of young adult fiction. Some of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, paranormal, review, Romance, sci-fi, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Riverkeep by Martin Stewart

“Glorious, and gloriously satisfying” For generations, the job of Riverkeep has been passed on from father to son in Wulliam’s family. In a few week’s time when he turns sixteen, it will be his turn. But he’s not sure that … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, supernatural, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Memories of Ash by Intisar Khanani

Intisar Khanani is interviewed in the next edition of Book Bites. Sign up to receive a copy here. Goodreads blurb: In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Shortlisted for the 2016 YA Book Prize Twylla is offered the chance to live in the court as the future wife of the heir to the throne. This means giving up her destiny as Sin Eater after her mother dies, … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Official blurb: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Ways of the Doomed by Moira McPartlin

Book 1 of the Sun Song Trilogy I love a book set in the future or in the past or in a different world altogether. I love that part at the beginning when the action is already going on and … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

‘You can’t grow a witch on chalk,’ says travelling witch Miss Tick to her toad. And yet, here she is, Tiffany Aching, nine years old and seeing off monsters and headless horsemen with nothing more than a frying pan and … Continue reading

Posted in comedy, fantasy, fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Agben School by Jo Sparkes

Official blurb: Agben had stood for a thousand years. A mysterious school housing more than students, it was the seat of the powerful Women of Agben, and the center for harnessing the potency of herbs. Few knew all that transpired … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, teen, YA | Tagged , , , , , , , ,

The Birr Elixir by Jo Sparkes

Official blurb: When a young apprentice makes a mysterious elixir from a recipe in an old book, she’s suddenly the talisman for a daring Gamesman – and the weapon in the conspiracy against a prince. Review by Katy Haye: I … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment