Tag Archives: world-building

Review: Non-Heir by Rachel E Carter

  Flawless. About the book: Prince. Prodigy. Mage. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce. This novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, magic, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: That Moment When (anthology)

About the Book: Love YA paranormal, urban fantasy, science fiction and dystopian books? We’ve gathered a handful of thrilling stories from all of your favorite genres and put them together into an epic anthology of young adult fiction. Some of … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, friendship, paranormal, review, Romance, sci-fi, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Riverkeep by Martin Stewart

“Glorious, and gloriously satisfying” For generations, the job of Riverkeep has been passed on from father to son in Wulliam’s family. In a few week’s time when he turns sixteen, it will be his turn. But he’s not sure that … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, supernatural, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Memories of Ash by Intisar Khanani

Intisar Khanani is interviewed in the next edition of Book Bites. Sign up to receive a copy here. Goodreads blurb: In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Shortlisted for the 2016 YA Book Prize Twylla is offered the chance to live in the court as the future wife of the heir to the throne. This means giving up her destiny as Sin Eater after her mother dies, … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Official blurb: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, Uncategorized, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Ways of the Doomed by Moira McPartlin

Book 1 of the Sun Song Trilogy I love a book set in the future or in the past or in a different world altogether. I love that part at the beginning when the action is already going on and … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, fiction, review, teen, YA, Young Adult | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment